My Favourite Tools: Mini Turkish Spindle

I bought this spindle on a whim because it was cute. It came from Threads Thru Time in 2010. I had first heard of the shop through Ravelry, and at that point I didn’t need to stalk them for updates. I really lucked out with this spindle.

From the Etsy listing (so thankful Etsy keeps track of purchases and this was easy to find)

This is a tiny turkish spindle, the shaft is made of Osage Orange and is 4-1/2 inches long. The whorl arms are 2-1/2 inches across and are made of canarywood. This little spindle weighs 0.4 ounces. This is not a good weight for a begineer, it will not spin a heavy wool yarn. It is best used for silk, silk blends, or other very fine fibers.

0.4oz is about 11g. The listing was accurate – it’s perfect for silk and silk blends. In fact, I’ve been using it mostly on a beautiful camel/silk blend that I bought from A Verb for Keeping Warm (another impulse buy.  I saw the shop mentioned on Ravelry and thought it was the best name I’d ever heard. I was a bit confused when the package showed up – I had completely forgotten about buying it- but as far as middle of the night shopping goes, this was a great choice).

This spindle has travelled with me and works great in the car – since it’s so short, even in the cramped space I can get quite a bit of work done on it. As it’s a Turkish spindle, it makes plying easy as well because as I wind on it creates a center pull ball, and it’s easy enough to ply from both ends. Even with the silk blend I haven’t had any issues with tangling or other difficulties.

Now, I do have to admit that I haven’t really spun anything else on this spindle. I’ve been doing this project slowly – mostly only working on it on vacation or retreats. One of my favourite things to do at an annual fiber arts retreat is to walk around spinning on this. I get to see what other people are working on, and I get to show off a bit. It generally gets some attention and I’ve even tempted a few to try spinning themselves. The upside of this long project is that once I’m finished and get something lovely and lacy knit with the yarn, it will be packed full of memories.

wp-1488372727513.jpg
Spindle, fiber and yarns. This slow project has taken me years and I’ve loved every minute of it. 

The one downside of the small size is that the spindle can’t hold a whole lot of yarn. The mini skeins I’ve made plying from a single ball have ranged from 20-60m (though the 20m was because I plied what I had spun one day while at a retreat, not because I had run out of room on the spindle). I don’t mind using the small skeins at all, but if you’re the type who hates changing yarns, this might be a problem for you.

All in all, this spindle is one of my favourites – both because of its cuteness and its usefulness. If you’re a fan of fine spinning or spinning on the go, I highly suggest trying one of these tiny spindles.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. That is a very cute spindle. Have you ever tried a 3d printed one? I have one that is absolutely tiny, and you’re totally right that it’s perfect for on the go spinning. I even brought it to disney world. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

